Skip to main content
  • New Internet Architecture Board, IETF Trust, IETF LLC and Internet Engineering Task Force Leadership Announced

    Members of the incoming Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IETF Trust, the IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) Board of Directors, and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)—which provides leadership for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)—have been officially announced, with new members selected by the 2021-2023 IETF Nominating Committee.

      13 Feb 2023
    • Informing the community on third-party correspondence regarding the W3C

      In accordance with our policy of transparency, this blog post is being published in order to keep the community informed about recent correspondence with lawyers acting on behalf of the Movement for an Open Web.

      • Lars EggertIETF Chair
      8 Feb 2023
    • Six Applied Networking Research Prizes Awarded for 2023

      Six network researchers have received Internet Research Task Force Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP), an award focused on recent results in applied networking research and on interesting new research of potential relevance to the Internet standards community.

      • Grant GrossIETF Blog Reporter
      9 Jan 2023
    • Travel grants allow Ph.D. students to participate at IETF meeting in-person

      Sergio Aguilar Romero and Martine Sophie Lenders, both Ph.D. students in technology fields, attended and participated in the IETF 115 meeting in London with assistance through travel grants from the Internet Research Task Force.

      • Grant GrossIETF Blog Reporter
      7 Jan 2023
    • Impressions from the Internet Architecture Board E-Impact Workshop

      The IAB ran an online workshop in December 2022 to begin to explore and understand the environmental impacts of the Internet. The discussion was active, and it will take time to summarise and produce the workshop report – but the topic is important, so we wanted to share some early impressions of the outcomes.

      • Colin PerkinsIAB Member
      • Jari ArkkoIAB Member
      6 Jan 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    New Internet Engineering Steering Group and Internet Architecture Board Members Selected

      25 Mar 2015

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) met in person for the first time during the 92nd Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting this week in Dallas, Texas.

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) met in person for the first time during the 92nd Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting this week in Dallas, Texas. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

      The IAB is, among other responsibilities, a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) that provides oversight of, and occasional commentary on, aspects of the architecture for the protocols and procedures used by the Internet.. Current IAB members are:

      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson, IETF Chair
      • Mary Barnes, MLB@Realtime Communications, LLC
      • Marc Blanchet, Viagénie
      • Lars Eggert, NetApp, (ex officio as IRTF Chair)
      • Ted Hardie, Google
      • Joe Hildebrand, Cisco
      • Russ Housley, Vigil Security, LLC
      • Erik Nordmark, Arista
      • Dave Thaler, Microsoft Corporation
      • Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
      • Ralph Droms, Cisco
      • Robert Sparks, Oracle
      • Andrew Sullivan, Dyn, Inc.
      • Suzanne Woolf, Independent consultant

      Andrew Sullivan was selected as IAB Chair. For more information on the IAB, see:

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet Standards. The work of the IETF is organized by Areas. The IESG consists of the Area Directors (ADs), who are appointed for two years. The current IESG members, by Area, are:

      Applications (APP)

      • Barry Leiba, Huawei Technologies

      Internet (INT)

      • Brian Haberman, Johns Hopkins University 
      • Terry Manderson, ICANN

      Operations (OPS) 

      • Benoit Claise, Cisco 
      • Joel Jaeggli, Fastly

      Real-time Applications and Infrastructure (RAI)

      • Ben Campbell, Oracle
      • Alissa Cooper, Cisco

      Routing (RTG)

      • Alia Atlas, Juniper Networks 
      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Alvaro Retana, Cisco

      Security (SEC)

      • Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin
      • Kathleen Moriarty, EMC Corporation

      Transport (TSV)

      • Spencer Dawkins, Huawei Technologies
      • Martin Stiemerling, NEC & Darmstadt University

      Jari Arkko is IETF Chair and the Area Director for the General Area (GEN). For more information on the IESG, see:

      The 2014-15 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Michael Richardson, was responsible for the deliberations on and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

      About the Internet Architecture Board

      The Internet Architecture Board (IAB) is chartered both as a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and as an advisory body of the Internet Society (ISOC). Its responsibilities include architectural oversight of IETF activities, Internet Standards Process oversight and appeal, and the appointment of the RFC Editor. The IAB is also responsible for the management of the IETF protocol parameter registries. For more information, see:

      About the Internet Engineering Task Force

      The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. The IETF seeks broad participation. The work of the IETF takes place online, largely through email lists, reducing barriers to participation and maximizing contributions from around the world. IETF Working Groups (WGs) are organized by topic into several areas (e.g., routing, transport, security, etc.). For more information, see:

      Share this page