Skip to main content
  • New Internet Architecture Board, IETF Trust, IETF LLC and Internet Engineering Task Force Leadership Announced

    Members of the incoming Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IETF Trust, the IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) Board of Directors, and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)—which provides leadership for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)—have been officially announced, with new members selected by the 2021-2023 IETF Nominating Committee.

      13 Feb 2023
    • Informing the community on third-party correspondence regarding the W3C

      In accordance with our policy of transparency, this blog post is being published in order to keep the community informed about recent correspondence with lawyers acting on behalf of the Movement for an Open Web.

      • Lars EggertIETF Chair
      8 Feb 2023
    • Six Applied Networking Research Prizes Awarded for 2023

      Six network researchers have received Internet Research Task Force Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP), an award focused on recent results in applied networking research and on interesting new research of potential relevance to the Internet standards community.

      • Grant GrossIETF Blog Reporter
      9 Jan 2023
    • Travel grants allow Ph.D. students to participate at IETF meeting in-person

      Sergio Aguilar Romero and Martine Sophie Lenders, both Ph.D. students in technology fields, attended and participated in the IETF 115 meeting in London with assistance through travel grants from the Internet Research Task Force.

      • Grant GrossIETF Blog Reporter
      7 Jan 2023
    • Impressions from the Internet Architecture Board E-Impact Workshop

      The IAB ran an online workshop in December 2022 to begin to explore and understand the environmental impacts of the Internet. The discussion was active, and it will take time to summarise and produce the workshop report – but the topic is important, so we wanted to share some early impressions of the outcomes.

      • Colin PerkinsIAB Member
      • Jari ArkkoIAB Member
      6 Jan 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2020-2021

      25 Mar 2020

      The 2020-2021 IESG and IAB were officially seated as more than 1000 leading technologists were set to join the first-ever virtual Internet Engineering Task Force meeting

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles this week during the 107th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet. IETF 107 scheduled for 21-27 March is the first IETF meeting to take place entirely online.

      The 2019-2020 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Victor Kuarsingh was responsible for considering candidates for open seats in the IAB and IESG. Candidates selected by the NomCom are indicated by asterisks in the lists below. Other members are continuing existing terms.

      Internet Architecture Board

      The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. Current IAB members are:

      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
      • Ben Campbell*, Independent
      • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
      • Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin
      • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
      • Cullen Jennings*, Cisco
      • Mirja Kühlewind*, Ericsson
      • Zhenbin Li, Huawei
      • Jared Mauch*, Akamai Technologies
      • Mark Nottingham, Fastly
      • Tommy Pauly*, Apple
      • Jeff Tantsura, Apstra
      • Jiankang Yao 姚健康*, CNNIC China Internet Network Information Center

      Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB. Mirja Kühlewind was selected as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

      Internet Engineering Steering Group

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (general) area. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

      Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

      • Murray Kucherawy*, Facebook 
      • Barry Leiba, Futurewei Technologies

      General (GEN) Area

      • Alissa Cooper, Cisco

      Internet (INT) Area

      • Erik Kline*, Loon LLC
      • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

      Operations and Management (OPS) Area

      • Warren Kumari, Google
      • Robert Wilton*, Cisco

      Routing (RTG) Area

      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Alvaro Retana, Futurewei Technologies
      • Martin Vigoureux*, Nokia

      Security (SEC) Area

      • Roman Danyliw, CERT/Software Engineering Institute
      • Benjamin Kaduk*, Akamai Technologies

      Transport (TSV) Area

      • Martin Duke*, F5 Networks.
      • Magnus Westerlund, Ericsson

      In addition to her role as the Area Director for the General Area, Alissa Cooper will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair, Mirja Kühlewind, will also serve as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

      Share this page